The young Automobile Club was nurtured in the hills of Kandy from 1904 until 1925. Thereafter, the headquarters moved to Colombo and was housed in the Ceylon Chambers of Commerce building in Fort up to 1938. Due to the growth of the Association, the Association shifted to Iceland Building Galle Face in 1946. Thereafter, shifted its occupation to its own premises at No.28 Church Street (Sir Mohamed Macan Markar Mawatha) Galle Face. This was a picturesque spot fronted by a spacious lawn decked with fragrant frangipani trees and right in the heart of the city of Colombo.
But with the construction of its 5 storied building a few yards away, the headquarters moved into the occupation in 1963 where it is now housed. It has an auditorium, boardroom, a lounge and a billiards parlor. Some of the floors of this building are leased out to earn extra income. The Technical and Road Services Department are also housed in the same compound. This property is nearly 90 perches in extent. In the year 2002, the then Committee constructed the 4 storied Millennium building on the eastern side of the premises. The entire Millennium building is rented out to earn more income from its investments.
The AAC has been privileged to be under the distinguished patronage of successive Heads of State; during colonial times the Governors of Ceylon lent their patronage to the Association, and since the Declaration of Independence in 1948, the Patron of the Association was the then Governor-General of Ceylon.
Claim listing is the best way to manage and protect your business.
Uplist.lk is a Sri Lankan based Interactive Local Business Directory. We are building local economies and stronger communities. Levelling the playing field so even the smallest of businesses has a fair shot at success.